So in Wilder Carey game Wilder intercepted it then went down in Enew Zone. Ruled safety. If he intercepted in End Zone and didn’t leave it would be touchback. Unless he left the end zone or on his own accord went back to End Zone I thought that should of been touchback,
top of page
bottom of page
I think i found it and wouldn't you know the camera completely missed it on the Idaho Sports broadcast!? It sounds like something wonky happened on the play that we don't get to see. The announcers seemed to think that the interception happened outside of the end zone and the ball was fumbled into the end zone where it was covered up by Wilder. The Wilder coaching staff did not ask for any clarification that I could see in the video so they must have had a similar assessment of the situation.
You are correct on your understanding of interceptions in the end zones being a touchback. There is even a "Momentum Exception" for interceptions near the goal line that subsequently enter the end zone because of the defenders momentum that brings that ball back out and placed at the spot of the interception instead of it being a safety if they end up tackled in the end zone. Kind of a forward progress kind of ruling.
When in the game was it? I want to have a look at it.